The Apollo 11 site

The photo shows the southern edge of the Sea of Tranquility where the Eagle lem of the Apollo 11 mission landed on 20 July 1969 bringing astronauts Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin to the Moon while the Columbia module with Michael Collins on board remained in lunar orbit.
In their honor some of the area’s craters have been named with their names: Armstrong (5 km), Aldrin (3 km), and Collins (3 km).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.